Information for Out of State Students

Before offering distance education classes in other states, all institutions of higher education must obtain authorization from those states to offer classes to their residents. At this time, due to extraordinarily high costs to obtain authorization, and/or other limiting factors, we regret that Bellevue College cannot offer distance education classes to students who live in Alabama, Arkansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Minnesota, and Puerto Rico.

Other states may have restrictions for certain programs that include internships, externships, clinicals and practicums. Please contact for more information.

Bellevue College is now a member of SARA. SARA is a nationwide initiative of states that make eLearning education courses more accessible to students across state lines and make it easier for states to regulate and institutions to participate in interstate eLearning education.

SARA member states are denoted by an (*) next to the state below.

Complaint Resolution Procedures

For Information on state agencies, click on state below.

Alabama                      Alaska*                         Arizona*

Arkansas                      California                      Colorado*

Connecticut                  Delaware                      District of Columbia

Florida                          Georgia                         Hawaii

Idaho*                           Illinois                           Indiana*

Iowa                              Kansas*                         Kentucky

Louisiana*                     Maine                           Maryland

Massachusetts              Michigan                      Minnesota

Mississippi                     Missouri*                       Montana*

Nebraska*                      Nevada*                      New Hampshire*

New Jersey                    New Mexico                New York

North Carolina               North Dakota*              Ohio

Oklahoma                      Oregon*                        Pennsylvania

Rhode Island                 South Carolina             South Dakota*

Tennessee                     Texas                           Utah

Vermont                         Virginia*                       Washington*

West Virginia*                Wisconsin                    Wyoming

U. S. Territories