Student Environmental Sustainability Fund Committee

Student Environmental Sustainability Fund (SESF) LogoThe SESF committee is responsible for recommending allocations of the revenues collected from the students environmental sustainability fee.  These allocations should direct the College’s sustainability and environmental program investments based on the College’s mission and goals, strategic plan, and with the following objectives:

  • Broaden or enhance the quality of students’ academic experience by integrating sustainability into their curriculum;
  • Promote student’s commitment to minimize global warming emissions by supporting the institution’s comprehensive plans to achieve climate neutrality;
  • Provide leadership in our communities and throughout society by modeling ways to minimize global warming emissions towards a thriving, ethical and civil society.

Tasks of the Committee: Committee will develop or implement a review process for SESF allocation that will

  1. Promote awareness of fee & call for proposals
  2. Review proposals
  3. Make recommendations for budget allocation to the ASG Board of Directos

For a detailed look at the document governing the operation of the SESF Committee see the SESF Policy(pdf file).


The SESF committee is designed so that students chair the committee and hold the majority vote, however, it contains representation from all the major groups on campus (staff, faculty and administration), as well as non-voting advisors.

MEMBERSHIP:Appointed/Elected byTerm
ASG Environmental & Social Responsibility RepresentativeBy virtue of position1 year
ASG PresidentBy virtue of position1 year
SSA President or designeeBy virtue of position1 year
One (1) Student-at LargeASG President1 year
One (1) Faculty MemberFaculty Union2 years
One (1) AdministratorVP of Administration2 years
One (1) Classified StaffClassified Union2 years
Ex-officio members:
Assistant Dean of Student ProgramsBy virtue of positionPermanent
Director of SustainabilityDesignee of convenerPermanent
ASG Chief Justice or Judicial Board DesigneeBy virtue of positionPermanent


SESF committee 2013-2014:

RepresentingMemberTerm Ends
ASG Environmental & Social Responsibility RepresentativeAlex Clark6/2013
ASG PresidentZawdie Terry6/2013
SSA President or designeeBrandon Hartshorn6/2013
One (1) Student-at LargeYukimi Mizuno6/2013
One (1) Faculty MemberMichael Hanson6/2013
One (1) AdministratorDexter Johnson6/2014
One (1) Classified StaffJan Ng6/2014
Ex-officio members:
Assistant Dean of Student ProgramsFaisal JaswalPermanent
Director of SustainabilityDeric GruenPermanent
Environmental Advisory Committee Rep.Rob ViensPermanent