Bellevue hitting against Everett in May 2019, catcher and referee looking up at ball

The Bellevue College softball program, built into a perennial power by coach Leah Francis, is coming off a strong 2019 season where the Bulldogs posted a 42-7 overall record and seventh-place finish in the NWAC Championships, winning a pair of tournament games.

The Bulldogs posted a 29-3 region record to finish first in the Northern Region and earn their 15th straight NWAC Championship berth. The softball program won Northern Region titles in 2019, 2016, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2009, 2008, 2006 and 2005 (the first region title in school history) and placed second in 2015, 2014, 2010 and 2007.

During the 2018 NWAC Championships, the Bulldogs defeated Centralia 19-11 to give Francis her 500th career victory at BC.

BC Softball Team with sign for coach Frances 500th victory
Coach Leah Francis notched her 500th career victory in 2018.

During Frances’ 15 years at the helm, the Bulldogs posted a record of 542-152 (a .781 winning percentage) and have had numerous all-league players.

Pitcher Rhaney Harris, shortstop Tatum Dow, and outfielder Tori McDowell were named NFCA NWAC All-Americans in 2019. Frances and assistant coaches Sarah Hyatt, Danielle Orvella and Michelle Fusco were named coaching staff of the year.

Dow was named 2019 NWAC North Region player of the year. Harris and Tori McDowell, pitcher Carissa McDowell, infielder Meg Marino, outfielder Angel Prewitt and designated player Nashoni Boyd were named to the All-North Region first team

Pitcher Macey Sykes, infielder Darian Olin, outfielder Kira Shipley, catcher Megan Paoli, and utility player Maddy Trout were named to the second team.

BC also has had a several previous NWAACC All-Americans; Rachel Delamare in 2016, Autumn Isaacson in 2013, Autumn Isaacson and Haylee Baker in 2012, Tobey Varney, Kristen Allen and Rogin Hardy were winners of the award in 2011, Tobey Varney won the award in 2011 and 2010, Erica Addison, Dawn Norcross and Korri Heidemann were winners of the award in 2008 and Caitlin Storkson won the award in both 2006 and 2005.

After 15 seasons as head coach, Frances announced her resignation following the 2019 season.


2019 Bellevue College Softball

BC softball 2019

Last Updated March 18, 2020